Clerk of Circuit Court
2021 Holiday Closings
The Clerk's Office will be closed on the following days:
Thursday, December 23, 2021
Friday, December 24, 2021
Friday, December 31, 2021
For more information and to review the Judge's closing order please see the Order to Close Circuit Court (PDF).
Beginning Tuesday, September 7, 2021, masks must be worn in the public areas of the courthouse and in the Circuit Court courtroom by everyone regardless of vaccination status.
Please review the Plans for Resumption of Jury Trials (PDF) for more information on future court proceedings.
Clerk’s Office Responsibilities
The Clerk of Court is charged with the custody, safekeeping and proper indexing of legal and quasi-legal papers deposited in her office. Other responsibilities include:
- Administering Oaths
- Docketing and Filing of Criminal Actions
- Filing Adoption Petitions
- Filing Judgments
- Filing of Civil Suits
- Issuing Concealed Handgun Permits
- Issuing Marriage Licenses
- Probating Wills
- Recording Land Records and Plats
- Recording Military Discharge Forms
Visit the Virginia Case Management System to search for case information.
The Installment Agreement Payment Order (PDF) has been updated and is available; please see terms or call for more details.
Pay fines online through the Virginia Judiciary Online Payment System.
Please reference the Community Service During Imprisonment Order (PDF) for more information on community service credits.
Secure remote access of land records beginning July 1, 2006 is now available for $50 per month. Please print and complete the Secure Remote Access Application (PDF). Applications can be submitted in person or by mail. Please call the Clerk’s office for more information.
Mathews County Clerk of Court
P.O. Box 463
Mathews, VA 23109
The court clerk’s office can issue a marriage license. The fee is $30 and you are required to bring your future spouse and a photo ID. The license is good for 60 days. Download and print the Marriage License Application (PDF). More details on marriage requirements can be found on the Virginia Department of Health website.
Concealed Handgun Permit Application
The process related to the submission of concealed carry permits has changed. Applicants will no longer take their application to the Sheriff's Office to begin the process, but instead, take them to the Clerk of the Circuit Court's office.
Concealed handgun permits are issued through the Circuit Court in the locality where the applicant resides, or if you are active-duty military, the locality where the applicant is domiciled. The applicant must be at least 21 years of age and provide proof that he or she is competent to carry a concealed weapon pursuant to Virginia Code Section 18.2-308(G). Permits are good for five years and should be renewed at least 45 days prior to expiration.
Process of Obtaining a Concealed Handgun Permit
1. Obtain a SP-248 Concealed Handgun Permit Application from the State Police website.
2. Submit your application, a copy of your valid photo identification, and approved certificate of training for handgun safety to the Mathews County Clerk of the Circuit Court office along with a nonrefundable fee of $50.00.
3. The completed application is then sent to the Mathews County Sheriff's Office for the required criminal history background check.
4. If the Circuit Court Judge approves your application, he will enter an order instructing the Clerk to issue the permit.
5. The permit will be mailed to you at the address you provided on your application. When you receive the permit, remember to sign the card where indicated and carry it along with your valid photo identification.
As of January 1st, 2021, the requirements for proving demonstrated competence with a handgun have changed. For first time applicants, proof of training must be completed in person. For more details, please visit the Virginia State Police website or the Virginia Legislative Information System website.
Which Court Do I Need?
Many people do not realize there a three courts in Mathews County: Circuit Court, General District Court, and Juvenile and Domestic Relations District Court. General District Court hears traffic infractions, all misdemeanors under state law, and civil matters that do not exceed $25,000. The telephone number for General District Court is 804-758-4312.
Juvenile and Domestic Relations District Court hears all criminal and traffic matters involving minors (under age 18). This court also handles matters involving the family such as custody, support, and visitation, family abuse cases, and criminal cases where the accused and the victim are family or household members. The telephone number for Juvenile and Domestic Relations District Court is 804-693-4850.
- Visit the Virginia Judicial System Website for more information on judiciary practices in Virginia.
- 2021 Proposed Amendments to the Constitution of Virginia (PDF)
Circuit Court Term Dates
- Term Day is on the 3rd Monday of every other month at 9:30 am
- Term Day is on the 3rd Tuesday in the month of January
- Praecipe must be filed by the Wednesday of the preceding week of Term Day